March 23, 2019

Rescate Animal Zooave: Wildlife sanctuary in Costa Rica

Costa Rica is known for its extremly high biological diversity. It is considered one of the 20 most biodiverse countries all around the world. Due to its geographic location between two continents, the two coastal regions and montane areas with their different vegetation zones and microclimates are home of around 500.000 species, which add up to Costa Rica hosting 4% of the worldwide amount of estimated species.

The Rescate Animal Zooave is a wildlife rescue center in Alajuela, near the capital San José, with the aim of protecting the biodiversity and animal welfare of the country. In 2018, the animal protection foundation „Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche“ decided to support the project of the Rescate Animal Zooave in two different ways: Thanks to the generous donation of the foundation, the clinic is now equipped with an ultrasound machine, which significantly improves the medical treatment of the more than 2000 animals that are treated in the clinic annually. Furthermore, the foundation set up a scholarship for a German veterinary assistant to help and support the team of the clinic as a volunteer for three months, by bearing the costs arising with the stay in the country.

The project of the Rescate Animal Zooave:

The Rescate Animal Zooave’s mission is the long-term preservation and protection of native wildlife and the protection of environmental diversity and wildlife habitats.

Rescate Animal Zooave is divided into different projects:

  • Fully functional Wildlife Rescue and Rehabilitation Center: intake, care and medical treatment of at least 2000 injured and abandoned animals on an annual basis.

  • Endangered Species Breeding Center: breeding programs, including Geoffroy spider monkeys, Central American squirrel monkeys, great green macaws and scarlet makaws.

  • Conservation Park: Care Sanctuary for overall 800 non-releasable animals from more than 125 different species.

  • Three reintroduction reserves: Bosque Escondido Wildlife Refuge (Nicoya Peninsula), Valle Central and Golfito (Osa Peninsula): so far thousands of animals have been released into the wild

Furthermore Rescate Animal Zooave promotes several activities:

  • Environmental education programs for local school children

  • Environmental awareness campaigns throughout the country

  • Lobbying for more strict legislation to increase the protection of wildlife and biodiversity

The Rescate Animal Zooave is one of only two official government approved facilities in the country that are accredited by the “Global Federation of Animal Sanctuaries” (GFAS). However, they receive no financial support from the government, but are being funded exclusively by admission fees, private donations and occasional donation items.

Over 2000 wild animals are being accomodated by Rescate Animal Zooave’s Wildlife Rescue and Rehabilitation Center each year. Most of the mammals, birds and reptiles are brought to Rescate Animal Zooave by local citizens or tourists. Those animals mostly include sloths, monkeys, tamanduas, porcupines, parrots and other birds as well as reptiles. Many of them are orphaned young animals. Injured animals often are in critical condition as a result of powerline electrocution, collisions with vehicles or windows, predation by pet dogs and cats, or hunting.

Many other animals, mainly the endangered species, are brought to Rescate Animal Zooave from MINAE (the local wildlife authority) including jaguars and other wild cats, rare parrots and passerines and some reptiles. These animals have generally been confiscated from poachers, illegal breeders, hotel owners or other citizens, who were using them as tourist attraction or keeping them as pets. Those animals normally suffer malnutrition, dehydration, parasitism or psychological trauma.

All of these animals are treated and rehabilitated in the veterinary clinic. As far as their physical and behavioural condition permits, they then go through different stages of pre-liberation before finaly being released into their natural environment in one of the two release sites of Rescate Animal Zooave.

Rescate Animal Zooave also provides life-time care for 800 non-releasable animals. All of those animals are being kept in large enclosures and aviaries, that are set up as close to nature as possible. By visiting the park, attention is being drawn to the preservation program of Rescate Animal Zooave. Information boards point out the tasks of the center and explain the specific problems that arise with the protection of particular species as well as general conservation topics.

Rescate Animal Zooave is also home to a number of unwanted exotic animals and pets including some ostriches, emus, marmosets and various caged birds.

Rescate Animal Zooave made headlines worldwide with the story of the toucan Grecia after losing half of its beak in a brutal attack by teenagers and receiving a 3D printed prothesis in the animal rescue center’s clinic. The history of Grecia triggered worldwide consternation and local protests against animal cruelty. With this, the toucan Grecia became an international symbol for animal welfare.

Donation of an ultrasound machine by the Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche

At the beginning of 2018 the Rescate Animal Zooave’s veterinary hospital moved to larger premises and now relies on further donations to be able to increase its medical technological facilities. Thanks to the generous donation of the Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche the clinic now has a portable ultrasound machine, which significantly improves the qualitiy of medical treatment of the animals the center is taking care of.

The use of medical imaging techniques is an important tool for a more accurate diagnosis. The most widely used techniques in veterinary medicine are, due to their speed and lower costs, radiography and ultrasound. Both of them are essential tools especially in the field of emergency medicine. Ultrasound gives us dynamic images, which contributes to the diagnosis of pathologies such as obstructions, cardiac deseases and obstructions of blood flow. It is also used for the diagnosis of hemorrhages or fluid accumulation in the thoracic and abdominal cavities, evaluation of tumor masses and others.

Since Rescate Animal Zooave has the ultrasound machine it has been used in several different cases: among others, for a porcupine with decreased gastrointestinal transit, a monkey with chronic diarrhea, for a baby sloth as a tool of general initial examination and in the renal evaluation of a geriatric mountain lion. This allowed us to take better and faster treatment decisions to solve the problems.

Ultrasound examination of a porcupine Ultrasound examination of a porcupine, Isabel Hagnauer (veterinarian) (left) and Larissa Calis (biologist) (right)
Ultrasound examination of a monkey, from left: veterinary assistent Jana Bauer, experienced animal caretaker Aleida Méndez and veterinarian Isabel Hagnauer Ulrasound examination of a baby sloth, Jana Bauer (veterinary assistent) (left) and Isabel Hagnauer (veterinarian) (right)
Ultrasound examination of a mountain lion

Volunteering in the Rescate Animal Zooave veterinary clinic

Apart from the generous donation of an ultrasound machine the Tierschutz Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche enabled the 21 year old German veterinary assistant Jana Bauer to work in the veterinary clinic as a volunteer for three months by bearing the costs of accomodation and living in the country. With her experience in dealing with European wild birds as well as with exotic pet birds she was able to volunteer mainly in the avian department of the hospital. Here she was jointly responsible for feeding all the birds in the clinic, for the medical treatment of injured and ill birds and for rearing orphaned chicks. Furthermore she assisted in taking care of the other animals. The clinic team was grateful for her dedicated help and could even sometimes benefit from her experience, for example in the field of optimizing the diet of the young birds.

“Working in the clinic and dealing with so many different species of animals and especially birds impressed me very much and I have learnt a lot. I was able to gain important experience and knowledge, both of which will certainly help me in my professional future working with animals. Also I believe that this volunteer stay will have a strong personal influence on me. I am extremely grateful to the Tierschutz Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche that it enabled me to make this unique experience!”

Cordial thanks to the Tierschutz Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche

Rescate Animal Zooave is very pleased with the interest the Tierschutz Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche is showing in its project. Thus, the whole team would like to cordially express its thanks for the generous donation to the veterinary hospital!

März 23, 2019

Rescate Animal Zooave: Wildtierauffangstation in Costa Rica

Costa Rica ist bekannt für seine extrem hohe biologische Vielfalt. Das Land gehört zu den 20 artenreichsten Regionen der Welt. Aufgrund seiner geografischen Lage zwischen zwei Kontinenten sind die beiden Küstenregionen und das zentrale Bergland mit ihren unterschiedlichen Vegetationszonen und Klimabedingungen die Heimat von etwa 500.000 Tier- und Pflanzenarten, das sind rund vier Prozent der weltweit geschätzten Arten.

Der Rescate Animal Zooave ist eine Wildtierauffangstation in Alajuela, nahe der Hauptstadt San José, die es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, zum Tier- und Artenschutz des Landes beizutragen. Die Tierschutzstiftung Wolfgang Bösche entschied 2018, das Projekt des Rescate Animal Zooave auf zwei Wegen finanziell zu unterstützen: Dank der großzügigen Spende der Stiftung ist die Klinik nun mit einem mobilen Ultraschallgerät ausgestattet, wodurch die medizinische Behandlung der mehr als 2000 jährlich von der Klinik versorgten Tiere wesentlich optimiert wurde. Außerdem ermöglichte die Stiftung, dass eine Tiermedizinische Fachangestellte als Freiwillige das Klinikteam des Rescate Animal Zooave für drei Monate tatkräftig unterstützen konnte, indem sie die mit dem Aufenthalt verbundenen Kosten übernahm.

Das Projekt des Rescate Animal Zooave:

Die Mission des Rescate Animal Zooave ist die langfristige Erhaltung und der Schutz der Artenvielfalt Costa Ricas sowie die Verbesserung des Umweltschutzes.

Der Rescate Animal Zooave besteht aus mehreren Teilprojekten:

  • Auffangstation mit integrierter Klinik: Aufnahme, Versorgung und medizinische Behandlung von jährlch mindestens 2000 verletzten und verwaisten Wildtieren

  • Reproduktionszentrum: Zuchtprogramme zur Erhaltung bedrohter Tierarten, v.a. Geoffroy-Klammeraffen, Mittelamerikanische Totenkopfaffen, Soldatenaras, Hellrote Aras

  • „Conservation Park“: Unterbringung von ingesamt ca. 800 nicht auswilderungsfähigen Tieren aus mehr als 125 verschiedenen Spezies

  • Drei Auswilderungsreservate: Bosque Escondido Wildlife Refuge, Nicoya Peninsula, Valle Central und Golfito, Osa Peninsula : Auswilderung von bisher insgesamt mehreren Tausenden Tieren

Des Weiteren fördert Rescate Animal Zooave diverse Projekte:

  • Programme zur Aufklärung über Natur- und Umweltschutz in lokalen Schulen

  • Umweltkampagnen

  • Einsatz für strengere Gesetzesgebung zum Schutz der Artenvielfalt

Der Rescate Animal Zooave ist eine der nur zwei von der „Global Federation of Animal Sanctuaries“ (GFAS) ausgezeichneten Wildtierauffangstationen Costa Ricas und wird damit von der Regierung offiziell als Wildtierauffangstation mit exzellenten Standards anerkannt. Das Projekt wird allerdings nicht durch die Regierung finanziert, sondern lebt allein von Besuchereinnahmen aus dem „Conservation Park“, privaten Spenden und gelegentlichen Sachspenden.

Mehr als 2000 Tiere werden jährlich vvon der Tierauffangstation Zooave aufgenommen. Die meisten von ihnen werden von costaricanischen Bürgern oder Touristen abgegeben, darunter Faultiere, Affen, Ameisenbären, Stachelschweine, diverse Papageien und andere Vögel und Reptilien. Oft handelt es sich um verwaiste Jungtiere. Verletzte Tiere sind oft Opfer von Stromschlägen an elektrischen Leitungen, Fenster- oder Autokollisionen, Hunde- oder Katzenbissen oder von Bejagung. Viele befinden sich bei der Aufnahme in der Klinik in kritischem Zustand. Andere, insbesondere bedrohte Tierarten wie Jaguare und andere Wildkatzen, seltene Papageien, verschiedene Singvögel und Reptilien werden von der Wildtierbehörde MINAE an Rescate Animal Zooave übergeben. Solche Tierarten werden immer wieder von Wilderern, illegalen Züchtern, Hotelinhabern oder anderen Privatleuten als Haustiere oder Touristenattraktionen gehalten und leiden dann unter Mangel- oder Fehlernährung, Dehydrierung, Parasiten und psychischen Traumata.

Alle vom Rescate Animal Zooave aufgenommen Tiere werden in der tiermedizinischen Klinik versorgt und behandelt. Verwaiste Jungtiere weden aufgezogen. Soweit es der körperliche Zustand sowie das Verhalten der Tiere zulässt, durchlaufen sie dann mehrere Stufen zur Vorbereitung auf das Leben in freier Wildbahn, bevor sie in einer der drei Auswilderungsstationen in die Natur zurück entlassen werden.

Der Rescate Animal Zooave ermöglicht außerdem die dauerhafte Unterbringung von etwa 800 nicht auswilderungsfähigen Tieren. All diese Tiere werden in großen, möglichst naturnah eingerichteten Gehegen und Volieren gehalten. Durch den Park werden die Besucher auf das Projekt des Zooave aufmerksam gemacht. Infotafeln klären über die Arbeit des Zooave, über die Probleme der einzelnen Tierarten sowie über generelle Artenschutzthemen auf.

Der Rescate Animal Zooave beherbergt zudem noch diverse exotische, d.h. nicht in Costa Rica heimische, Tiere, die niemand mehr haben wollte, z.B. einige Strauße, Marmosetten und verschiedene Vögel.

Weltweit Schlagzeile machte der Rescate Animal Zooave mit dem Tukan Grecia, dem Jugendliche die obere Schnabelhäfte abgeschlagen hatten und der in der Klinik eine von einem 3D Drucker gefertigte Schnabelprothese erhielt. Der Fall löste weltweit Betroffenheit aus und in Costa Rica fanden Demonstrationen gegen Tierleid statt. Der Tukan Grecia wurde somit zu einem internationalen Symbol für den Tierschutz.

Spende eines Ultraschallgerätes durch die Tierschutz-Sftung Wolfgang Bösche

Anfang 2018 zog die Klinik des Rescate Animal Zooave in neue, wesentlich größere Räume um und ist nun auf Spenden angewiesen, um die medizintechnische Ausstattung weiter aufrüsten zu können. Dank der großzügigen Spende der Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche verfügt der Zooave seit Neustem über ein mobiles Ultraschallgerät, das die medizinsche Versorgung der Tiere wesentlich verbessert.

Der Einsatz von medizinischen bildgebenden Verfahren ist unerlässlich für eine umfassende Diagnostik

Eine wichtige Rolle in der Tiermedizin spielen hier vor allem die relativ kostengünstigen und schnellen Verfahren Radiographie und Ultraschall, beide unverzichtbar vor allem bei der Versorgung von Notfällen. Ultraschallgeräte liefern dynamische Bilder, mit deren Hilfe sich Erkrankungen wie z.B. Verstopfungen Herzerkrankungen und Durchblutungsstörungen feststellen lassen. Die Sonographie wird außerdem eingesetzt für die Diagnose von inneren Blutungen oder Flüssigkeitsansammlungen im Brust- oder Bauchraum sowie für den Befund von Tumoren.

Seitdem der Rescate Animal Zooave über das Ultraschallgerät verfügt, wurde es in mehreren Fällen eingesetzt. Darunter waren unter anderem ein junges Stachelschwein mit vermindertem Darmtransit, ein Affe mit chronischem Durchfall, ein Baby Faultier im Rahmen einer prophylaktischen Allgemeinuntersuchung sowie eine ältere Puma-Dame, bei der der Verdacht auf eine Nierenerkrankung bestand. Die Ultraschalluntersuchungen ermöglchten es, schnell und zielgerichtet, die notwendigen Behandlungen einzuleiten.

Ultraschalluntersuchung bei einem Stachelschwein Ultraschalluntersuchung bei einem Stachelschwein, Isabel Hagnauer (Tierärztin ) (li) und Larissa Calis (Biologin) (re)
Ultraschalluntersuchung bei einem Affen, von li nach re: Tiermedizinische Fachangestellte Jana Bauer, langjährig erfahrene Tierpflegerin Aleida Méndez und Tierärztin Isabel Hagnauer Ultraschalluntersuchung bei einem Faultier-Baby, Tiermedizinische Fachangestellte Jana Bauer (li) und Tierärztin Isabel Hagnauer (re)
Ultrasschalluntersuchung bei einem Puma

Freiwilligenarbeit in der Klinik des Rescate Animal Zooave

Neben der großzügigen Spende zur Anschaffung des Ultraschallgerätes ermöglichte die Tierschutzstiftung Wolfgang Bösche der 21-jährigen Tiermedizinischen Fachangestellten Jana Bauer eine dreimonatige Freiwilligenarbeit in der Klinik des Rescate Animal Zooave durch Übernahme der mit dem Aufenthalt verbundenen Kosten. Da sie bereits Erfahrung im Umgang mit europäischen Wildvögeln sowie auch mit exotischen Vögeln hat, arbeitete sie während ihrer Zeit als Freiwillige hauptsächlich in der Vogelklinik, wo sie mitverantwortlich war für die Fütterung der dort aufgenommenen Vögel, die medizinische Versorgung verletzter und kranker Vögel sowie für die Aufzucht verwaister Küken. Ebenso half sie bei der Versorgung der anderen Tiere.

Das Klinikteam freute sich über ihre tatkräftige Hilfe und profitierte auch von ihren mitgebrachten Erfahrungen z.B. bei der Optimierung der Diäten bei der Kükenaufzucht.

„Die Arbeit in der Klinik und der Umgang mit so vielen verschiedenen Tier- und vor allem Vogelarten hat mich extrem beeindruckt und sehr viel gelehrt. Ich konnte wichtige Erfahrungen sammeln und mir Wissen angeeignet, was mir auf meinem weiteren beruflichen Weg und bei meiner zukünftigen Arbeit mit Tieren enorm weiterhelfen wird. Außerdem wird mich meine Zeit hier im Zooave auch ganz sicher persönlich stark prägen. Ich bin der Tierschutzstiftung Wolfgang Bösche extrem dankbar, dass sie mir diese einzigartige Erfahrung möglich gemacht hat!“

Ein herzliches Dankeschön an die Tierschutz-Sftung Wolfang Bösche

Der Rescate Animal Zooave freut sich über das Interesse, das die Tierschutzstiftung Wolfgang Bösche seinem Projekt entgegenbringt und bedankt sich an dieser Stelle ganz herzlich für die großzügige Unterstützung der Tierklinik!