November 20, 2016

BOS e.V.: Centre for the rehabilitation of Orangutans in Indonesia

In 1991, the rehabilitation-centre for Orangutans was founded in Wanariset in East-Kalimantan (the Indonesian part of Borneo) for the there living Orangutans that are acutely threatened of becoming extinct. These animals are illegally captured in the wilderness and sold as pets to private persons, where they are kept in a teasing way.

bos2

This situation and the destruction of the local rainforests that serve as living space for the Orangutans, have caused an extreme decrease of the population of the animals, whereby this special kind of Orangutan is now directly threatened to become extinct.
bos1

In the care station, at times are more than 300 animals that were hurt, in need or secured, are kept, cared and arduous prepared for living in the rainforest again.

The “Borneo Orangutan Survival Foundation” (BOS) is the largest organisation for the protection of this type of Orangutans, worldwide. In 2001, “BOS – Deutschland e.V.” was founded by the former “jungle-doctors” Dr. Peter Collin and Dr. Eberhard Kreikemeier.

November 20, 2016

BOS e.V.: Orang-Utan-Rehabilitations-Zentrum in Indonesien

1991 wurde das Orang-Utan-Rehabilitations-Zentrum in Wanariset in Ost-Kalimantan (indonesischer Teil Borneos) für die dort heimischen, akut vom Aussterben bedrohten Orang-Utans gegründet. Diese Tiere werden illegal in der Wildnis gefangen und als Haustiere an Privatpersonen verkauft, wo sie in tierquälerischer Art gehalten werden.

bos2

Diese Situation und die Vernichtung der dortigen Regenwälder, die den Orang-Utans als Lebensraum dienen, hat in den letzten Jahren zu einem starken Rückgang der Tierpopulation geführt, wodurch diese spezielle Orang-Utan-Art nun akut vom Aussterben bedroht ist.
bos1
In der Pflegestation werden zeitweise über 300 verletzte, in Not geratene und sichergestellte Tiere aufgenommen, gepflegt und mühsam auf eine erneute Auswilderung vorbereitet.

Die „Borneo Orangutan Survival Foundation“ (BOS) ist die weltweit größte Organisation zum Schutz dieser Orang-Utan-Art. Im Jahr 2001 wurde „BOS – Deutschland e.V.“ von den ehemaligen „Dschungel-Ärzten“ Dr. Peter Collin und Dr. Eberhard Kreikemeier gegründet.