November 20, 2016

GRD e.V.: Centre for the protection of dolphins in Croatia

The “Gesellschaft zur Rettung der Delphine e.V. (GRD)”, that was founded in 1991, stands up for the salvation of the last 200 Adria-dolphins. Their population has been reduced by more than 50 percent in the last 35 years, because of the destruction of their ecological system.

grd_delfin
In addition to setting up protected areas and the rescue of hurt or stranded dolphins, the construction of a dolphin-protection-centre in Croatia is planned. This project was started in 1999 by the GRD in common with veterinarians from the university of Zagreb under the management of Prof. Dr. Hrvoje Gomercic.

grd_bootAlready in the 1980s, the Croatian scientists specialized in the sea-mammals and have contributed effectively to the since 1995 existing law for the protection of dolphins. But because of the lack of money, they were limited on the analysis of dead dolphins.

With the delivery of the first GRD-patrol-boat and further equipment in june 2000, the Croatian animal welfarists were able to start their important practical work and can now save dolphins and whales that are stranded or lost in the numerous bays of the Croatian Adria or estuarys.

Click here for more information.

November 20, 2016

GRD e.V.: Errichtung eines Delphinschutz-Zentrums in Kroatien

Für die Rettung der letzten ca. 200 Adria-Delphine, deren Population in den letzten 35 Jahren aufgrund der Zerstörung des Ökosystems um mehr als die Hälfte reduziert wurde, setzt sich die 1991 gegründete Vereinigung „Gesellschaft zur Rettung der Delphine e.V. (GRD)“ ein.

grd_delfin
Neben der Einrichtung von Schutzgebieten sowie der Rettung von verletzten und gestrandeten Tieren ist die Errichtung eines Delphinschutz-Zentrums in Kroatien geplant. Dieses Tierschutz-Projekt wurde 1999 von der GRD gemeinsam mit Tierärzten der Universität Zagreb unter Leitung von Prof. Dr. Hrvoje Gomercic gegründet.

grd_bootSchon in den 80er Jahren haben sich die kroatischen Wissenschaftler auf Meeressäuger spezialisiert und maßgeblich zu dem seit 1995 bestehenden Delfinschutzgesetz beigetragen. Doch mangels Finanzen waren sie auf Laborarbeit, also der Untersuchung von toten Delfinen, beschränkt.

Mit der Übergabe des ersten GRD-Patrouillenbootes und weiterer Ausrüstung im Juni 2000 konnten die kroatischen Tierschützer endlich mit der wichtigen Feldarbeit beginnen und sind somit jetzt auch in der Lage, lebend gestrandete oder in den zahlreichen Buchten der kroatischen Adria und den Flussmündungen verirrte Wale und Delfine zu retten.

Mehr Informationen finden Sie hier.