February 1, 2018

Animal Protection in Florida/USA: Caring for wild animals in need (Natucate)

Thanks to a subtropical and tropical climate in Florida, the southeastern US state has a rather extraordinary diversity when it comes to animal and plant species which makes it a popular destination for outdoor travelers and day tourists.
Since tourism and conservation often come into conflict it is essential to regulate tourism and to offer protection areas in order to preserve the largely pristine nature. Different animal and species protection projects have been brought into being that are dedicated to the protection of endangered species and the care of wild animals in need.

The project

One of the projects that is dedicated to the care of wild animals does its work in an animal protection center north of Florida’s fifth largest city Orlando.
The animal protection center functions as an animal shelter for wild animals that are often not able to live independently in the wild anymore or in their former conditions because of abuse, neglect, or injuries.
Located in the Ocala National Forest that is controlled by the US-government, the station is a perfect refuge for the animals to recover and to gather strength. Bears, predatory cats, wolves, primates, or bats are taken care of and many of them are able to recover thanks to the intensive care of the animal protection team. In some cases, wild animals native to Florida can even be released into the wild again.
Furthermore, the animal protection center welcomes groups of visitors on a regular basis to raise awareness of the threats the animals face and to share their knowledge about their keeping and handling.
In order for the project to still exist in the future and for the animals to keep their refuge, there is a need for not only financial support but especially for the help of engaged workers. The involvement of voluntary helpers is crucial for the continued existence of this worthwhile project. The German agency NATUCATE is also committed to its continuation – therefore, they make an effort in finding volunteers who want to support the project.

Support by Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche

The board of Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche decided to support the animal protection center after reading an extensive report about the project’s work by NATUCATE.
Since October 2017 they award a chosen volunteer with a scholarship. This volunteer has the chance to preserve the shelter in a four-week voluntary service on site by preparing food, feeding the animals, cleaning out and maintaining the enclosures and the area, and helping out with the veterinary care. Simultaneously, the volunteer will get an insight in the daily business of a non-profit animal protection center and will gain valuable practical skills.
The volunteer is provided with on-site accommodation, a house consisting of shared rooms and a shared bathroom and kitchen.
Furthermore, Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche decided to provide the project with a donation in kind that benefits the renovation of the existing facilities, especially the expansion of the lemur enclosers.
We would like to thank Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche for contributing to the continuation of this project through this wonderful support!

Scholarship 2018

For the year 2018, the scholarship for the animal protection project in Florida was awarded to Kim, a 19-year old student from Leverkusen.
Kim is currently doing a school-based education to become a graphic design assistant and is on her way to do her ‘Fachabitur’, the German equivalent for a vocational baccalaureate diploma.
She has a great love for animals and grew up with cats, dogs, and other small animals. Animal protection is a matter of heart for Kim and according to her “it shouldn’t be inferior to the protection of humans. Every person should develop awareness for the worth of non-human life.” The chance to work as a volunteer in Florida is something very special for Kim. “So far, this possibility wasn’t realizable without support.
Thanks to Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche I now get the chance to travel to the USA and gain an insight in the work of an animal protection center.
“I am excited to learn more about the individual care of the different animals and look forward to providing them with a safe refuge and to seeing them happy.”
During her stay in Florida, Kim is going to write a blog about her experiences in the project and will thus allow us to partake in her adventure. In the course of Kim’s time in the United States this ‘travel journal’ is going to be published on the homepage of Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche.
In her free time Kim likes to skateboard, to draw and to photograph.

About NATUCATE

The German agency NATUCATE, located in the city of Aachen, is specialized on educational stays abroad in connection with voluntary service in nature, animal, or species protection projects.
In accordance with the agency’s name that is composed of the words “nature” and “to educate”, NATUCATE wants to combine nature and education. Through voluntary work, nature-orientated training courses, and internships participants get the chance to contribute to the preservation of natural habitats and endangered species, to understand the worth of the earth’s natural resources and this way to broaden their horizons.

Februar 1, 2018

Tierschutz in den USA: Pflege notleidender Wildtiere in Florida (Natucate)

Dank des subtropischen bis tropischen Klimas Floridas weist der südöstliche US-Bundesstaat eine außerordentliche Vielfalt an Tier- und Pflanzenarten auf und stellt daher ein begehrtes Ziel für Outdoorurlauber und Tagestouristen dar.

Da Tourismus und Naturschutz jedoch oftmals in Konflikt stehen, ist es für den Erhalt der in weiten Teilen unberührten Natur unverzichtbar, den Tourismus zu regulieren und Schutzzonen auszuweisen. So sind zudem diverse Tier- und Artenschutzprojekte ins Leben gerufen worden, die sich dem Schutz bedrohter Tierarten und der Pflege verletzter Wildtiere verschrieben haben.

Das Projekt

Eines der Projekte, die sich ebendieser Pflege von notleidenden Wildtieren widmet, entfaltet seine Arbeit in einem Tierschutzzentrum nördlich von Floridas fünftgrößter Stadt Orlando.
Das Tierschutzzentrum fungiert als Auffangstation für Wildtiere, denen es aufgrund von Misshandlung, Vernachlässigung oder Verletzungen in der Regel nicht mehr möglich ist, selbstständig in freier Wildbahn oder in den vorherigen Verhältnissen zu überleben.
Tief im von der US-Regierung kontrollierten Ocala National Forest gelegen, bildet die Station einen idealen Rückzugsort für die Tiere. Die dort betreuten Arten reichen von Bären, Raubkatzen und Wölfen über Primaten bis hin zu Fledermäusen, von denen sich viele durch die intensive Pflege des Tierschutzteams wieder erholen können.
In Florida beheimatete Wildtiere können in einigen Fällen sogar wieder in die Wildnis entlassen werden.
Ferner empfängt das Tierschutzzentrum regelmäßig Besuchergruppen, um über die Bedrohungen, denen die Tiere ausgesetzt sind, aufzuklären und Wissen zu ihrer Haltung zu vermitteln.
Damit das Projekt auch in Zukunft bestehen kann und schutzbedürftige Wildtiere weiterhin eine Zufluchtsstätte finden, ist neben der Unterstützung durch finanzielle Mittel besonders die Hilfe von engagierten Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern entscheidend.
So leistet die Einbindung freiwilliger Helfer einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Fortbestand der wertvollen Projektarbeit. Auch der Aachener Agentur NATUCATE ist deren Weiterführung ein großes Anliegen, sodass sie sich stark für die Vermittlung von Volunteers an das Projekt einsetzt.

Unterstützung durch die Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche

Aufmerksam geworden durch einen ausführlichen Bericht von NATUCATE über die Arbeit des Projekts, hat sich der Vorstand der Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche dazu entschlossen, das Tierschutzzentrum zweckgebunden zu unterstützen.
Seit Oktober 2017 findet diese Unterstützung zum einen in Form der Vergabe eines Auslandsstipendiums an einen ausgewählten Volunteer statt, der mit einem vierwöchigen Freiwilligeneinsatz vor Ort durch Essenszubereitung und Fütterung der Tiere, Reinigung und Instandhaltung der Gehege und des Geländes sowie Zutun bei der tierärztlichen Versorgung dabei hilft, diese liebevolle Zufluchtsstätte aufrechtzuerhalten.
Gleichzeitig erhält er Einblick in das Tagesgeschäft eines Non-Profit-Tierschutzzentrums und erwirbt wertvolle Praxisfähigkeiten.
Eine Unterkunft, die sich auf dem Gelände der Station befindet und aus Mehrbett-zimmern, Gemeinschaftsbad und -küche besteht, wird dem Stipendiaten zur Verfügung gestellt.
Darüber hinaus hat sich die Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche dazu entschieden, dem Projekt in Kombination mit dem Auslandsstipendium eine Sachspende zukommen zu lassen, die der Renovierung bestehender Anlagen und dabei insbesondere der Erweiterung des Lemurengeheges zugutekommt.
Ein außerordentlicher Dank gilt der Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche, die mit dieser wunderbaren Unterstützung zum Fortbestand des Projekts beiträgt!

Auslandsstipendium 2018

Für das Jahr 2018 erfolgt die Vergabe des Auslandsstipendiums für das Tierschutz-projekt in Florida an die 19-jährige Schülerin Kim aus Leverkusen.
Kim befindet sich momentan in einer schulischen Ausbildung zur gestaltungs-technischen Assistentin und auf dem Weg zum Fachabitur.
Sie ist eine große Tierliebhaberin und zuhause mit Katzen, Hunden und anderen Kleintieren groß geworden. Tierschutz ist für Kim eine Herzensangelegenheit und ihrer Meinung nach „in keinem Fall dem Schutz der Menschen unterzuordnen.
Jeder Mensch sollte ein Bewusstsein für den Wert eines nichtmenschlichen Lebens entwickeln.“ Für Kim ist die Chance, als Volunteer vor Ort in Florida mitwirken zu können, etwas ganz Besonderes. „Bislang ließ sich diese Möglichkeit ohne Unterstützung leider nicht realisieren.
Dank der Tierschutzstiftung Wolfgang Bösche darf ich jedoch nun in die USA reisen und einen Einblick in die Arbeit eines Tierschutzzentrums erhalten.
Ich bin sehr gespannt darauf, mehr über die individuelle Pflege der unterschiedlichen Tiere zu lernen.
„Ich freue mich darauf, den Tieren eine sichere Zufluchtsstätte bieten zu können und sie glücklich zu sehen.“
Während ihrer Zeit in Florida möchte Kim einen Blog über ihre Erfahrungen im Projekt führen, um uns an ihrem Abenteuer teilhaben zu lassen. Dieses „Auslandstagebuch“ wird im Laufe ihres USA-Aufenthaltes auf der Homepage der Tierschutz-Stiftung Wolfgang Bösche veröffentlicht.
In ihrer Freizeit fährt Kim gerne Skateboard, zeichnet und fotografiert.

Über NATUCATE

Die Aachener Agentur NATUCATE ist spezialisiert auf die Vermittlung von weiter-bildenden Auslandsaufenthalten in Verbindung mit dem freiwilligen Einsatz in Projekten zum Natur-, Tier- und Artenschutz.
Dem Firmennamen entsprechend, der sich aus „nature“ und „to educate“ zusammensetzt, ist es ein Anliegen von NATUCATE, Natur und Bildung zu vereinen. Durch Freiwilligenarbeit, naturnahe Weiterbildungskurse und Praktika wird den Teilnehmern ermöglicht, zum Erhalt natürlicher Lebensräume und bedrohter Arten beizutragen, den Wert der natürlichen Ressourcen der Erde zu begreifen und somit gleichzeitig den persönlichen Horizont zu erweitern.